News & Events


Upcoming seminar and event information


Congratulations to Dr. Noah Guiberson from the Burre lab, who has received a grant jointly funded by Uplifting Athletes and the STXBP1 Foundation.

Dr. Noah Guiberson, a neuroscientist from Appel Institute, has been recognized as one of the 10 esteemed researchers awarded a $20,000 research grant at Uplifting Athletes' Young Investigator Draft. Organized by the nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting the rare disease community, Uplifting Athletes, in collaboration with the STXBP1 Foundation, the event showcased Dr. Guiberson's proposal to study STXBP1-related disorders by characterizing a novel STXBP1 missense mutant mouse...


Chloe Lopez Wins People's Choice in WCGS/GSK Three-Minute Thesis Competition!

People's Choice: Chloe Lopez-Lee (Weill Cornell Graduate School, Neuroscience, PI: Li Gan)
Do male and female brains respond differently to disease?"

We are thrilled to announce that Chloe Lopez, a member of the Gan Lab, has achieved a remarkable accomplishment in the annual WCGS/GSK Three-Minute Thesis competition. This...


Congratulations to Daniel Barnett from the Orr lab, who has received a NRSA F31 fellowship!

Daniel Barnett from the Orr Lab was awarded an NRSA F31 predoctoral fellowship from the NIA for his proposal, “Mitochondrial complex III-derived ROS in astrocytic signaling and Alzheimer’s disease-related pathogenesis”. His research will explore how complex III ROS is a context-dependent regulator of neural signaling, neuroinflammation, and proteinopathy, which may reveal complex III ROS as a novel therapeutic target for AD and related dementias.

Weill Cornell Medicine Helen & Robert Appel Alzheimer’s Disease Research Institute 413 E. 69th St. New York, NY 10021